Device Disposal

Prev Next

Important: If you need to dispose of your device, first erase all private information from it. Erasing private information will delete your custom vocabularies and other important files. Before you begin this procedure, be sure to back up your vocabularies and other important files.

To erase private information from a non-dedicated device:

  1. Swipe up to unlock the home button (if necessary).

  2. Select Settings.

  3. Select General.

  4. Scroll down and select Reset.

  5. Select Erase All Content and Settings.

    1. Select Erase Now at the “Do you want to update your iCloud Backup before erasing” prompt.

    2. Enter the restriction code for the device.

    3. Select Erase on the Erase iPad pop up box.

    4. Select Erase on the second Erase iPad pop up box.

  6. Enter the password of the account on the device.

  7. The device will erase the content and restart.

To have private information erased from a dedicated device:

  1. Contact the service/support team.

  2. Follow the instructions provided to pack and ship your device.

⚠ Dispose of all electronic components according to local, state, and/or federal electronic recycling laws. Customers in Europe need to follow the WEEE and European Battery Directive for details regarding disposal of components.